Intellectual Freedom Committee


The Intellectual Freedom Committee is responsible for safeguarding and promoting intellectual freedom within the Wisconsin Library Association and the Wisconsin library community.


The Committee is made up of 8-12 members, each appointed per Article VII, Section 2(a) of the Bylaws.

Current Committee Roster

Chair: Kristina Gomez

Chair-Elect:  Christinna Swearingen

Secretary:  Hannah Good Zima

Committee Members:  Betsy Bleck, Nicole Breed, Julia Lee, Karli Pederson, Steven Rice, Jennifer Chamberlain, Diane Konjura, Megan Schliesman, Monica Treptow




Meeting minutes are available to WLA members. Please sign in to see them. If you need assistance logging in, please contact [email protected] or call 608-245-3640.

Intellectual Freedom Committee Meeting Minutes 


Who to Contact When Facing a Challenge?

Intellectual Freedom Committee: [email protected]

CCBC Intellectual Freedom Information Services:  CCBC confidentially assists Wisconsin* librarians and teachers when they are facing potential or actual book challenges. If you are a Wisconsin librarian or teacher facing a challenge, or a question has been raised about a book and you think a complaint or challenge may follow, contact us.   Phone (608-263-3720) or email us ([email protected]). If you email, please include a phone number at which a CCBC librarian can call you back.

*Librarians and educators: American Library Association Office for Intellectual Freedom for challenge support; Educators can also contact the National Council of Teachers of English Intellectual Freedom Center.


Intellectual Freedom Resources

 For intellectual freedom resources, trainings, policies, and toolkits, go to: